The right to be anti-social

This is the last week of the field school I have been volunteering at. Washing pot sherds and helping clean the areas since 5:30AM. Lunch at 2PM. Dinner at around 8:30PM. At 8PM,the field school gathers around a big L-shaped table to eat their dinners and bring their iPhones to use the taverna’s Wi-Fi.

But not tonight. Tonight there is an exhibition at the neighboring town’s community center displaying models and tools used during the past 10 years of the field school project. Afterwards, the mayor of that town will treat everyone to traditional Greek barbeque and drinks.

And I skipped it.

A lot of people would think (correctly) that this is considered an act of stupidity since I am basically turning down a free meal and drink.

But those people have not stayed in a town where it’s 100 degrees with no A/C and the populace expects you to dance after eating greasy food and drinking insane amounts of alcohol. Given my stomach conditions of acid reflux and a light-weight, I did not feel like risking getting sick at the event.

I did risk such illness last week, when the mayor threw an outdoor party for the team (barbeque and all):

Right in front of the apothiki. It was 9PM and the sun was still out!

Right in front of the apothiki. It was 9PM and the sun was still out!

Greek Barbeque: pork, chicken and a sausage on a stick.

Greek Barbeque: pork, chicken and a sausage on a stick.

Team mates dancing the traditional Greek circle dance for 20 mins!

Team mates dancing the traditional Greek circle dance for 20 mins!

I bravely drank retsina and Greek beer before dancing the traditional Greek dance in a circle in the middle of the small party at 20 mins at one point at the party. Could only take a 2 minute break before Cutie implored we dance again. I danced that night as much as I could, since the party lasted until 12AM. By that time, I was exhausted and dehydrated.

The next morning I was drained, working slower than usual and melting.

The physical consequences from a night of merriment wouldn’t be so bad if it weren’t for my spirits.

My friend and neighbor who is taking care of our cat uploaded a YouTube video. It was a video of out cat, purring under her hands as she fed her at our place.

It brought tears to my eyes because I miss her.

My cat as a chess meme

My cat as a chess meme

After spending almost 12 hours with the field school team, I just want to go back home and hug my cat, feed it and hell, even clean up her litter box. Cutie and I both recognize that our cat is part of our small nuclear family. We are staying at a house, but its not a home.

Tonight I just don’t feel like dealing with people I probably won’t see again (and have not bonded with), deal with Greek politicians and other nonsense. I have that stupid Phil Collins song “Take me Home” over and over again in my head because I’ve been away too long from home.

Home where my heart is.

 

Leave a Reply

