Mental Muscle Building

Teaching yourself math is hard.

So is life. Been working hard teaching myself Algebra to test into the next phase of testing: Trigonometry and Pre-Calculus. Why torture myself, you ask? Because getting into the STEM field is my last shot at getting a good-paying career before calling it quits. You can only do so much to try to be as marketable as possible. I can’t let hard things stop me from learning what I have to learn in order to get a shot at a better life.

Another good reason: maybe to curve my risk for Alzheimer’s Disease. My grandmother’s condition is getting worse, but at least she still remembers me. Whenever I can’t remember something, I just cringe with frustration. What if I am already showing symptoms? Exercise and learning a new language (Greek) are supposed to help prevent the disease, but to what extent?

Which also brings me to the constant struggle of getting in shape in spite of the cold weather. It has gotten too cold to bike to the university, so I opted to go to the gym instead. One thing I have learned about getting older (Happy Birthday Me!) is that it doesn’t take as much time to wear yourself out. I used to still have energy after working out for 2 hours while I was in my twenties. Now it takes me just one hour. 😦

This is why I love coffee!

Leave a Reply

