Small minds are found in the unlikely of places

After a long hiatus from blogging (Christmas and New Year’s Activities) Cutie and I decided to retreat to a place where there is Air Conditioning and away from people for the weekend. Don’t get me wrong: I do missed seeing several of my family members but there are some I needed to get away from because of some unexpected drama/B.S./misunderstandings.

Which is why I needed this Mojito at the local Tapas bar. Because beer just wasn't cutting it!

Which is why I needed this Mojito at the local Tapas bar. Because beer just wasn’t cutting it!

I was getting tired of explaining/playing diplomat to family members because do not have thick enough skin to accept assertiveness or different points of view about things.  I am also sick and tired of hearing excuses:

“This is not traditional”

“You know how things are around here and such comments are not appreciated”

Well, they can kiss my ass. And no, I will NOT control my Cutie because a bunch of narrow-minded people can’t handle him. Not my fault some people were raised to be pussies.

This is why I also took Cutie to Rincon, PR, away from that B.S. and the NOISE!

No one judges you at the sea: everyone becomes seafood at some point in their lives.

No one judges you at the sea: everyone becomes seafood at some point in their lives.

For our anniversary, instead of giving ourselves presents, we went to the Tres Palmas Reserve and Para sailed together.

I was nervous because I’ve never done this before, but after we saw a 90-year-old woman return from her trip, my nerves calmed a bit.

High as a kite, without getting high!

High as a kite, without getting high!

The experience was worth it: Cutie and I got a bit nauseous,  but the view of the ocean off the coast was spectacular: the sea filled with emerald tones of blue and green glistening against the midday sun. We spotted a sea turtle bobbing out at sea, without a care in the world. We truly felt like we were being flown like kites, not knowing when or where we will be dropped. Lucky for us, we glided back into the boat without incident.

Dealing with small-minded people opened my eyes to appreciating the experiences I went through when I was challenged/pushed to do things. Of course I hated experiencing half of the B.S. that comes with traveling/moving/working in different places. But my Cutie was right: if I didn’t challenge myself, I would have been missing out on unique experiences and not learn anything.  Or worse: I would have ended like my small-minded relatives (thin-skinned, anxious, racist, etc).  Yeah, so glad for that Mojito!

Leave a Reply

