Why it is hard to take care of extra body parts

<DISCLAIMER: RANT>

Last weekend felt like a huge hangover, combined with embarrassment the minute I stepped outside of my house. Inauguration was depressing so my GF and I headed out to an Anti-Inauguration Party to raise money for Planned Parenthood and the local women’s shelter.

The Cheeto in Command has Spoken!

After excising our Constitutional rights to ridicule/make fun/ disagree over the change of the glorified Executive Clerk, we participated in auctions to raise money for Planned Parenthood. Hell, that organization is as closest to the equivalent of Women’s Health Care Services in Canada.

It does not seem fair to make comparisons but Jesus…it is like steeping into two dimensions: one where women health services are as important as heart disease prevention and the other…well…(results may vary depending on which state you live in).

In Canada, there was an entire FLOOR in the Alberta Health Service Building in Edmonton dedicated to everything: birth control, STD testing, PAP smears. I was fascinated and awe-struck. No protesters in front of the office building trying to block my access to see a OB-GYN with stupid signs of unborn babies. Or Biblical Scripture. Or incessant yelling. And the visits were FREE with the medication REASONABLY PRICED. Just let that sink in…

In the US.. the Planned Parenthood mimics that system: clean, professional but with a few minor inconveniences (see above). That system fills the gap that my old GYN left after she stopped accepting my insurance. After scouring my health-plan’s network for a close-enough replacement (25 miles or less), it came to one doctor: a male GYN.

Pain where? Here?

It may not be fair to discriminate on which health professional should need my business, but I have to be honest: medical care needs empathy. I need to have access to a doctor that has a better chance of understanding PAIN from a particular body part that is not available to all human beings. And if you have ever been to the ER and screamed your head off in pain, all you would get is either “keep it down” or “take two of these and try to keep it down”. Female doctors aren’t exempt from downplaying pain, but knowing they can feel it or have felt pain in particular areas does help improve patient-doctor communication.

So I decided to continue going to Planned Parenthood for that much-needed maintenance for my lady-parts. Because they will accept my insurance and will accept my visits whether I have insurance or not. So far, no regrets. I still owe them A LOT.

 

Leave a Reply

